Saturday, 7 July 2012

LPD & Its Timing

Yesterday evening while having dinner with Poh Seng, Sherwyn and Ying Jun, the topic of Lightpulsar Dragon came up and apparently it seems that there are many people outside of our conversation who do not understand why Lightpulsar Dragon will miss its timing to special summon when hit by cards such as Soul Taker and Gemini Spark.

Firstly, lets take a look at Lightpulsar Dragon.

Card Name: Lightpulsar Dragon
Level: 6
Attribute: Light
Type: Dragon
Effect: You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monsters from your Graveyard. You can Special Summon this card (from your Graveyard) by sending 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monsters from your hand to the Graveyard. When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can target 1 Level 5 or higher DARK Dragon-Type monster in your Graveyard; Special Summon that target.
Image Shown (above): SD22-KR001 (Ultra Rare)

Therefore, when Lightpulsar Dragon is sent from the field to the graveyard by the effects of cards such as Soul Taker and Gemini Spark, why does the effect to special summon miss timing?

The reason behind it is due to the fact that the special summoning effect of Lightpulsar Dragon is optional and not mandatory, thus, when there is an effect in the chain that has yet to resolve, Lightpulsar Dragon's effect will not be able to resolve first, leading to the missing of timing. To explain this by example, lets first take a look at Soul Taker.


Card Name: Soul Taker
Category: Normal Spell Card
Effect: Destroy 1 face-up monster your opponent controls. Then, your opponent gains 1000 Life Points.
Image Shown (above): SD15-KR019 (Common)

Scenario: Your opponent activates Soul Taker on your Lightpulsar Dragon. The first effect of Soul Taker occurs, which is "Destroy 1 face-up monster your opponent controls." At this instance, Lightpulsar Dragon hits the graveyard, but as its effect is optional, itself hitting the grave would have to be the last thing to occur to activate its effect.

However, there is a part of Soul Taker's effect that has yet to resolve at the instance of Lightpulsar Dragon hitting the grave, which is "Your opponent gains 1000 Life Points."

Therefore, the last thing to occur is yourself gaining 1000 Life Points and not Lightpulsar Dragon hitting the grave, thus, the effect of Lightpulsar Dragon would miss the timing and would be unable to resolve.

Similarly for Gemini Spark on Lightpulsar Dragon, the last thing to occur is your opponent drawing a card, therefore the effect of Lightpulsar Dragon will miss its timing as well.

Another case is using Lightpulsar Dragon as a synchro material. When you do that, Lightpulsar Dragon's effect will not occur as well as the last thing to happen is the summoning of the synchro monster and not Lightpulsar Dragon hitting the grave.

Lets move on to another type of scenario. For example, when your opponent activates Dark Hole while you have Lightpulsar Dragon and Card Trooper on the field.

Card Name: Card Trooper
Level: 3
Attribute: Earth
Type: Machine
Effect: Once per turn: You can choose a number from 1 to 3, then send that many cards from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard; this card gains 500 ATK for each card sent to the Graveyard this way, until the End Phase. When this card you control is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard: Draw 1 card.

Note that the effect of Card trooper to draw one card when destroyed is mandatory (i.e does not miss timing). Therefore, as mentioned above, when your opponent activates Dark Hole on your Card Trooper and Lightpulsar Dragon, what happens?

Some thinks that Lightpulsar Dragon will miss its timing as the last thing to occur would be drawing one card for Card Trooper's effect. But this is wrong, the last thing to ocur is both Card Trooper and Lightpulsar Dragon being sent to the graveyard together.

So does Lightpulsar Dragon miss its timing? The answer is NO, its effect will still occur and you can special summon, but how does this work?

This is based on YuGiOh's SEGOC rulings (Simultaneous Effects Goes On Chain). When two effects activate at the same time, they will go on a chain. In this scenario, as Card Trooper's effect is mandatory, it will form chain link 1, and the optional effect of Lightpulsar Dragon will form chain link 2. Therefore, you will special summon with Lightpulsar Dragon's effect first, then draw one card for Card Trooper's effect.

Thats the end of my post for today, I hope you find it useful :)

No comments:

Post a Comment